

Alumni Association

Master Agriculturalist Award

The **ABAC Master Agriculturalist Award** is presented by the ABAC Alumni Association in recognition of alumni who have distinguished themselves as an outstanding farmers, ranchers, or forestry producers. The award is based upon leadership in the community and industry as well as the use of effective and efficient management practices in agriculture and natural resources operations. Service to the college is also taken into consideration. Originally titled the *Master Farmer Award*, this award was first presented in 1955, making it the oldest of the awards presented by the Alumni Association.

Eligibility and Criteria

- 1. The **Master Agriculturalist Award** is open to alumni who has attended Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College and have distinguished themselves as leaders in agriculture and natural resources production including farming, ranching and forestry.
- 2. Those nominated are not required to have received a degree or certificate from ABAC nor are they required to have majored in agriculture, natural resources, or a related field.
- 3. Nominations will be accepted using our online form from July 1 August 15 each year. Nominees will be considered for two consecutive years. Individuals may be re-nominated after two years.
- 4. Nominees will be contacted and provided with an application to be submitted by September 30. In addition to the standard application, up to three supporting documents are welcomed but not required. Examples include articles or letters of recommendation.
- 5. Selection for the award will be made by the ABAC Alumni Association Awards Committee, and the committee may consider nominees for a different award than the one for which they were originally nominated.
- 6. Recipients will be notified in advance and awards will be presented during the annual Alumni Awards Program during Homecoming in April.

For questions or more information, contact the Alumni Relations Office at alumni@abac.edu or 229.391.4900.

Click here to nominate an individual for the Master Agriculturalist Award.